Huashan – The most wonderful of mountains – Part 2

So after warming up at the world’s most scenic Mahjong board (Part 1) I headed across to the Cliffside Path, Huashan’s primary attraction.  The same thing happened as the other gate, with no one there to greet me and sell me a harness, or stop me jumping the fence.  This time there were video cameras however, I had no idea if they were monitored or not.  I simply went back to stoic philosophy and asked myself what the worst case scenario would be?  I figured he’d come out shout a bit and I’d have to go back and get a harness, nothing dramatic.

So off I went..

The ladder down to the Cliffside Path

The ladder down to the Cliffside Path

Where the path begins

Where the path begins

Looking Down

Looking Down

Ladder from below

Ladder from below

There were still more stairs to climb after this, the peaks don’t come easy. Here is example of the ridges you need to climb.

Huashan11Huashan14

The mountain also has some interesting sculptures.

The mountain also has some interesting sculptures.

Travelling alone you’ve just got yourself for company so to amuse myself I often try and get a few crazy photos.

Huashan12

The sign says 'Be careful when taking pictures.  I'm also in need of a Cowboy, Policeman and Foreman.'

The sign says ‘Be careful when taking pictures’

huashan25

Obligatory Cat.  They must think themselves Gods in every culture.

Obligatory Cat. They must think themselves Gods in every culture.

So after a hard day of climbing thousands of stairs I needed to find somewhere to sleep. The sunrise is meant to be majestic on Huashan and many people climb it through the night to get the top in time for it. I found the only accomodation place open and asked for a room, their initial price was about AU$30 which is pretty outrageous for China. However he knew I really didn’t have a choice, so I ended up paying $15 for the room having to completely bluff a walk away, I told myself I would just sleep on the mountain if he let me walk but that’s probably bravado speaking rather than reality. The guys staying up there lived in bunk beds and walked around in their onesies replete with bum flaps and watched Shaolin Monks all night and lived on instant noodle cups, they had the life alright.

The next morning I got up at about 5am for the sunrise, however I completely misjudged the time and missed it. I ended up just heading down the mountain in the dark, which was great in itself, if not a little spooky.

Huashan19Huashan18

..and finally here is me on the way down the mountain. Three thermal layers needed, it would have been about -5c.

Huashan17Thanks for reading! I might start my Motorcycle Diaries of Japan next, my first overseas trip.

5 thoughts on “Huashan – The most wonderful of mountains – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Huashan – The most wonderful of mountains – Part 1 | figo's fromagio

  2. Pingback: China’s Cliffside Plank Path Will Give you Goose Bumps «TwistedSifter

  3. Pingback: Wowsers Wednesday: Extreme Hiking in China | Journeys Travel Company

Leave a Reply

