Huashan – The most wonderful of mountains – Part 1

Hello and welcome to Figo’s Fromagio.  I have been travelling quite extensively for the last few years and it was time to record my travels in blog format.  One day hopefully I can share these with my kids and maybe even inspire others to partake in a little bit of adventure.  With this in mind I thought I should start with the highlight of my travels in China, the beautiful Mt Huashan.

Huashan is about 2 hours out of Xi’an, China which is otherwise famous for the Terracotta Warriors.  It’s also hard to get there without being in some sort of tour, I wanted to stay overnight and I had to argue for about an hour for them to let me on the bus without buying a return ticket.  They also stopped off at Chinese medicine display on the way to lighten our wallets.  As soon as I was off the bus I was off, to the left was the Gondola, an enclosed climate controlled chairlift to the main access area of the 5 peaks.  To the right was the Soldier’s Path with a little sign saying it was closed.

You can guess which path I took.

You can see the nice easy gondola above

The beginning of the Soldier’s Path (2 hours). You can see the nice easy gondola above (10 mins)

The Soldier’s Path was almost completely devoid of people, I only saw 2 people the whole way going up and they were 2 entrepreneurial old men taking snacks up the mountain to sell.  The gondola is rather expensive so they opt to walk up the mountain to sell their wares I guess.  Within 30 minutes of starting I came across this frozen waterfall, I was beginning to get an idea of why this path was closed.

Frozen Waterfall

Frozen Waterfall

After that the path started becoming something out of M.C. Escher’s twisted mind.

I took the one on the right

I took the one on the right

IMG_3900Looking down at the Gondola

Slight respite, the icy steps were pretty hairy.

The flat offered slight respite, however the icy steps were pretty hairy.

The soldier’s path in the end took about 2 hours and that was only just the beginning, there is 5 peaks to visit from there which means more and more stairs and precarious pathways.  The first of which can be seen below.

This be where Highlanders play Mahjong during storms

This be where Highlanders play Mahjong during storms

That little pavilion is a Mahjong board I think, I can only imagine the epic battles that have taken place there.  I had to reach it but there was a problem.

IMG_4026

There entrance was gated off and there was no one around.  I guessed there were harnesses in the box but if they weren’t around to serve me then bugger it.  Over the fence I went.

Just over the gate looking down.

Just over the gate looking down.

I don't have a clue about the orientation of this.

I don’t have a clue about the orientation of this.

Looks dangerous, I have no idea how I made it down.

Looks dangerous, I have no idea how I made it down.

The 'path' from below.

The ‘path’ from below.

I can imagine the loser being tossed off the edge.

I can imagine the loser being tossed off the edge.

and finally the view..

IMG_4039
So where to next?  I thought to myself, this handy sign was no use at all.

Eventually I ended up at the famed cliffside walk which was the sole reason I knew about this majestic mountain.  I’ll leave that story for Part 2.

6 thoughts on “Huashan – The most wonderful of mountains – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Huashan – The most wonderful of mountains – Part 2 | figo's fromagio

  2. Pingback: China’s Cliffside Plank Path Will Give you Goose Bumps «TwistedSifter

  3. When I was there in 1981, there was only one lumber instead of 3 together…, and I made it, now I am getting old, even if you put 5 lumber together, I can’t go 😦 thank you for the photos that bring back my “good old days”

  4. Pingback: ONE OF THE MOST DANGEROUS PATHS IN THE WORLD: DON'T LOOK DOWN -

Leave a Reply

