Ground control to Major Tom – Japan by Bike Pt. 5

Laying in my goosedown cocoon, I wondered if I would emerge a new creature.  Wriggling myself free of it’s warm embrace and teaching the body to move again.  Emerging from my hole to splay my wings to receive the bounty of the sun, recharging my batteries from the cold winter of yesterday.

No, I got up to find I had set my tent up on a Croquet field and not the campsite I thought.  That was a little to the left of me.  Nevermind, no one was around…

Well I look like a idiot.

Well I look like a idiot.

Bucket List:  Camp on a croquet field - Check.

Bucket List: Camp on a croquet field – Check.

In my defence that's a clear sign that says Campsite.

In my defence that’s a clear sign that says Camp Area.

I love the Japanese danger signs.

I love the Japanese danger signs.

After taking a few holidays snaps, I made a hasty exit.  Heading of course to the wiggly lines on the GPS.

Almost every road was like this.

Almost every road was like this.

Poor nose.

Poor nose.

I was really loving these little roads, they often followed creeks and perched on the valleys that followed.  The autumn colours were still very much alive although laying on the road rather than in the trees.  My red tinted goggles also brought out the famous colours of the Japanese Autumn.  If I were clever I would realise that the foliage was becoming less and less as I was heading north.  My mind however had reached the state of flow and despite the cold, I was more than content to just ride where ever the roads would take me.

You can see the line of the freezing point.

You can see the line of the freezing point.

From the same point.  You can play Where's Wally with the road.

From the same point. You can play ‘Where’s Wally?’ with the road.

I woke from my flow induced catharsis to a sign saying Asahi that suspiciously looked like the font from the beer.  I activated my gullibility and gleefully followed the signs, hoping I would find the brewery.  All that ended up happening was a 40km detour up to a ski resort in the Asahi region, again I couldn’t complain about the roads.

This is what I got instead of beer :(

This is what I got instead of beer 😦

I struggled to find a camp spot again and was heading further onward at night, who knew a 2×2 metre patch of grass would be so hard to find??  I eventually found another rocky shoulder to spend the night on as the rains kept falling.  Over the last few days I could count on one hand the number of other cars I had seen, I was really out of place for the season.  At night the solitude definitely hit as I was all alone out there, with the sound of a creek and the patter of rain as company.

I watched the movie Moon that night.  I have never had such a perfect movie for a perfect moment.  No way to contact anyone, no one close to me, supplies running low and without human interaction for a couple of days, I felt like I was on the Moon.

Continue to Part 6..

3 thoughts on “Ground control to Major Tom – Japan by Bike Pt. 5

  1. Pingback: Japan by Bike: Pay attention to road closures – Pt. 4 | figo's fromagio

  2. Pingback: Tent Fever – Japan by Bike Pt. 6 | figo's fromagio

Leave a Reply

