Caves and the Oldtown – Japan by Bike Pt. 13

Notice anything missing?

Notice anything missing?

Here was my little patch of grass on some guys farm.  You might want to look at the picture above and see if anything is missing..

That’s right (or wrong)!  My bike has a missing left mirror.  I parked it on a slope the previous night while I went on foot to scout out some possible camping sites, when I came back the bike had toppled and the mirror was broken 😦
I wasn’t very hopeful of not paying my insurance premium when I got back, it was still functioning however and that’s all that mattered.  Nothing a little 7/11 duct tape wouldn’t fix either.

Heading along roads you often find strange landmarks and tourist destinations.  Often they are in desperate need of repair or refurbishment but the tackiness and faded beauty sometimes work in their favour.  I came across one of these ‘dinosaurs’ as I was heading out of Nagano and figured I may as well check it out.  It had cool faded dinosaurs out the front and about 3 cars in the carpark, it had to be great.  It was meant to be a famous cave system in Japan, at least that’s what the signs told me.

The entrance.

The entrance.

Japan loves LEDs

Japan loves LEDs

Enough with the lights Japan.

Enough with the lights Japan.

After getting my mind blown it was time to head to the Old Town my guidebook had suggested.  I have unfortunately forgotten the name of this place but it was pretty much a tourist trap.  The stained wood and buildings were quite nice but there wasn’t much more to it.

Old Town

Old Town

Ye Olde Smartcar.

Ye Olde Smartcar.

This was but a taste of things to come.

This was but a taste of things to come.

I wanted to head to Kanazawa from here which were meant ot house the beautiful gardens in all of Japan, I was on the southern side of Japan and Kanazawa was on the north coast.  It was night time and it had started raining, I was already thoroughly drenched and I was near an expressway which would take me to Kanazawa, although it was about 150kms away.

I remember quite vividly walking around a 7/11 dripping wet pondering my next move, do I find somewhere to sleep, or do I make a cannonball run in the driving rain to Kanazawa?  Also which foreign chocolate bar to munch on and the most important, which fluro coloured drink to attempt the consumption of?  Life was giving me the hard choices, I must have looked a very sorry and lost man.

Maybe it was the uranium in my drink or the bemused stares of the young 7/11 employees but I decided to clench my teeth and get to Kanazawa that night.  What followed was 130km/h cannonball run down the expressway in driving rain, there were plenty of Mercedes and Audis doing the same thing, so I figured the cops weren’t much threat here.

Well I made it in one piece but yet again I found myself in an urban environment with no grass for me.  I had enough hardship for the day so said ‘Bugger it’ and just planted my tent on the lawns of some University.

I really was starting not to care.

I was really starting not to care.

…to Part 14.

4 thoughts on “Caves and the Oldtown – Japan by Bike Pt. 13

  1. Pingback: Gandalf Strikes and Monkeys Roam – Japan by Bike Pt. 12 | figo's fromagio

  2. Those caves look very freaky. Poor bike, but glad to know you fixed her 🙂
    Driving 130kmph in the rain was a brave move.

  3. Pingback: Autumn Splendour – Japan by Bike Pt. 14 | figo's fromagio

Leave a Reply

